Life of Tunes

No Blame It On The Rain, just No Rain ok?

Posted on: May 16, 2009

It’s another rainy day and it got me to thinking about my love-hate relationship with rain. There are days that I absolutely love the rain. Bring it on when I don’t have plans, or when the farmers are in desperate need. Let it pour when I don’t feel like dragging my ass out of bed. It just helps me think I am not missing anything. There is nothing better though, than sitting outside just under the porch roof and watching an awe inspiring rain storm approach complete with a sound and light show. Nature’s version of heavy metal. Being at the cottage and seeing the calm water become quickly disturbed is equally amazing.

So what about the rain inspired songs I love and hate? Do a Google search and you will come up with thousands of songs with rain in the title but there are a couple that come to mind today in particular. One, that if memory serves me correctly can’t even be considered a song! When Milli Vanilli recorded, or rather “air-bandedBlame It On The Rain in 1989 I remember truly hating this song. I don’t hate many things, but I just watched the video and it still makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up! I thought I would share it with you if for no other reason than the comic relief. Real music lovers are strongly cautioned about the images you will see here so please click responsibly. When Milli Vanilli was exposed in 1990 for not actually singing on their album, I couldn’t help but snicker.

In keeping with the music of the late 80’s and early 90’s one of my favorite rain songs “No Rain” by Blind Melon, released in 1992 helps to relieve some of my Milli Vanilli nausea. It’s a simple and fun sounding song that was quite possibly over rated at the time but for me is still timeless. Like many other music lovers I was keen on following this up and coming band and was disturbed when lead singer Richard Shannon died on October 21, 1995.  You can see the official “No Rain” video here. What actually caught my ear when I first heard this song was the opening lyrics rather than the tune itself. The writer Brad Smith’s words resonated with me when he said:

blind melonAll I can say is that my life is pretty plain, I like watchin’ the puddles gather rain. All I can do is just pour some tea for two, and speak my point of view – but it’s not sane. It’s not sane.

True in 1992 and still true today.

Blind Melon’s No Rain is a Life of Tunes Keeper.

Artist: Blind Melon
Album: Blind Melon (1992)
Track: No Rain
Website: www.blindmelon.org

Leave a Reply

Spread the word!

the Life of Tunes link to a friend or music lover in your life!

https://bigtunelover.wordpress.com

Listen to Life of Tunes Playlist!

[clearspring_widget title="Grooveshark Widget: Chameleon" wid="48f3ef6c29317865" pid="4a411a33f7031086" width="400" height="300" domain="widgets.clearspring.com"]

Looking Back

May 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Life of Tunes

My Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

