Life of Tunes

Is that a Mohan Veena in your pocket?

Posted on: May 27, 2009

Those of you who know me well know that I never shut up about Harry Manx. There are several reasons for that first and foremost being the music. I found Harry’s music during the Wise And Otherwise tour at a folk festival in Ottawa, Canada. It was an amazing day, a warm and breezy summer evening in August 2002.  I was walking into the stage area from the parking lot and there was this hush over the crowd. There had to be at least three or four thousand people there but I swear I could hear a pin drop. As I stepped into the opening of the gate Harry Manx was playing “Crazy Love” just at the intro. I was indeed speechless. I’m not saying the guys Bach or anything – it’s just one of those things. His music was speaking to me. I sat down and listened there in awe of the music, the evening and one of life’s little moment’s.

wiseThere is no way I can recreate that experience for you here today. I can suggest that if you ever get a chance to see Harry Manx that you don’t miss it.  You can listen to Crazy Love below. I have also included a little video that will give you some further insight into Harry Manx as well as some more music.

LISTEN HERE

Harry plays an instrument called a Mohan Veena which is a 20 string modified guitar invented by Vishwa Mohan Bhatt. I have also seen him play an assortment of other guitars and banjoes all exceptionally well.

Crazy Love is a Life of Tunes keeper that holds a special place in my musical journey.

4 Responses to "Is that a Mohan Veena in your pocket?"

Harry Manx is a baseline, a standard by which we can measure all real musicians–it’s clear this guy loves what he does and we are the oh, so thankful, beneficiaries.
BTW, he is also a ‘crowd pleaser.’

Never heard of either Harry Manx or a Mohan Veena. Very cool! Now I can go to bed more educated. Thanks

I am happy to have been of service. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Spread the word!

the Life of Tunes link to a friend or music lover in your life!

https://bigtunelover.wordpress.com

Listen to Life of Tunes Playlist!

[clearspring_widget title="Grooveshark Widget: Chameleon" wid="48f3ef6c29317865" pid="4a411a33f7031086" width="400" height="300" domain="widgets.clearspring.com"]

Looking Back

May 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Life of Tunes

My Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

