Life of Tunes

So NOT Gently We Go – Late Night Fright

Posted on: May 27, 2009

Just as I was nodding off to bed last night my I was rudely awaken by nostalgic tune.  I was listening to a mellow playlist on my iPod but I must have dropped when I should have dragged in iTunes recently because So Gently We Go by I Mother Earth is NOT mellow tune. We have all done this at one point or another I am sure. If it’s not human error it’s when you are listening to a mostly mellow CD and you nod off and then BAM – a blast of music sends your heart rate racing as you almost hit the roof! I have a couple of CD’s that have a noisy hidden track that have burnt me in the past as well, after like 10 minutes of complete silence you are rudely awoken.

imeSo Last night it was So Gently We Go an awesome tune that brings back memories so many other bands. When I think of I Mother Earth I think or Big Wreck, when I think of Big Wreck I think of Big Sugar. When I think of Big Sugar I think of Lenny Kravitz…you see what I mean? This is how my brain works. Now I have a list as long as my arm that I must seek out and listen to if I have a hope in hell of falling asleep tonight. Such is the life of the bigtunelover.

Track 4 off of 1993’s Digg album actually starts off pretty quietly which was a godsend, but in the end it woke me up like a freight train driving through my house. This ironically is one of the reasons I love this tunes what with me and my addiction to crescendos. Great percussion, jazzy guitars and pretty sound vocals are some of its other great attributes. At 7:04 it’s a bit longer than your typical song which I also love, I always feel like I am getting my money’s worth. There is no rush, just sit back and enjoy So Gently We Go from end to end. For those of you who are very visual when on the PC I have included the video although the quality is not great. For those of you like me that are quality sound junkies, I have also included the track in audio only below as well.

LISTEN HERE

Music is my love and the bane of my existence but I wouldn’t change it for the world. So Gently We Go by I Mother Earth is a Life of Tunes keeper!

Artist: I Mother Earth
Album: Digg (1993)
Track: So Gently We Go
Website: www.imotherearth.com

2 Responses to "So NOT Gently We Go – Late Night Fright"

Great song!!

Agreed, and now because I just saw the post again, I need to crank it again!

Leave a Reply

Spread the word!

the Life of Tunes link to a friend or music lover in your life!

https://bigtunelover.wordpress.com

Listen to Life of Tunes Playlist!

[clearspring_widget title="Grooveshark Widget: Chameleon" wid="48f3ef6c29317865" pid="4a411a33f7031086" width="400" height="300" domain="widgets.clearspring.com"]

Looking Back

May 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Life of Tunes

My Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

