Life of Tunes

Let The Wind Blow Back Your Hair

Posted on: May 29, 2009

I definitely wasn’t “Racing In The Streets” or driving  “Thunder Road” but these tunes were in my head all evening. There was something about being in the car tonight that brought a flood of memories back from my childhood. The windows were open, it was just a tad cool out and the wind felt refreshing and moist.  I had a flashback of being in the back seat of my Dad’s car on one of our many road trips, feeling that exact same feeling. Happy to be alive, in no real hurry to be anywhere and carefree – man if I could jimmy myself some of that up everyday I’d be set for life. Ironically I was in a hurry to get home and get my daughter to bed, already late on a school night. For some reason I was able to put that aside for the duration of the ride and just chill. I caught myself hoping and wondering if my daughter beside me was creating her own memories and that she would look back fondly on them 25 years from now.

bruceFor some reason when these images of summer nights, cars and just hanging out flash in my head I often think of Bruce Springsteen. I’m not sure where that comes from, it’s not like I’m a car buff, but it is a constant for me. He is a musician and songwriter that has really grown on me over the years as a direct result of buying the “Live 1975-85” box set. Prior to that I hadn’t really given Springsteen the credit he deserved for his amazing talent, specifically his songwriting ability. I have grown very fond of it in recent years. In Thunder Road he sings “hey what else can we do now? Except roll down the window and let the wind blow back your hair. Well the night’s busting open, these two lanes will take us anywhere”…and I am immediately transported to a place where summer nights are long and full of friends and simple pleasures like sitting on the porch with a cold beer. It reads cheesy but I don’t give a crap. If I can’t find that place in my reality it’s great to be able to holiday there for a few minutes on a ride home. If you get a chance, listen to “The River” off of this CD set as well. You can listen to it here. It’s the first song on the third disc and as a prelude to the tune Springsteen tells a personal story about the draft that is a great listen.

If it’s possible for you to close your eyes when you listen to “Thunder Road” give it a go. If it’s possible for you to head out on a warm evening this summer, roll down the windows and just cruise with this song blasting go for it. I would suggest however that those remain separate tasks. There are so many video’s and versions I could have posted but you really have to hear the exact version of this tune that I am talking about so no flashy pictures today. It’ll do you mind good.  Listen now, and if you can’t send the link home to yourself so you can later, or do both.

LISTEN HERE

Thunder Road off “Bruce Springsteen Live 1975-85” is a Life of Tunes keeper and a great little escape as well.

1 Response to "Let The Wind Blow Back Your Hair"

I really need to get into Springsteen. He`s popping all over the place. Never been a huge fan and I feel like I should be. I know the hits but that`s about it. Thanks for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

Spread the word!

the Life of Tunes link to a friend or music lover in your life!

https://bigtunelover.wordpress.com

Listen to Life of Tunes Playlist!

[clearspring_widget title="Grooveshark Widget: Chameleon" wid="48f3ef6c29317865" pid="4a411a33f7031086" width="400" height="300" domain="widgets.clearspring.com"]

Looking Back

May 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Life of Tunes

My Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

