Life of Tunes

Fracking Coldplay

Posted on: June 8, 2009

What is it with some people and their love or hate of music? I mean, in a way I get it; everyone has their likes and dislikes that’s the way it has always been and that’s the way it will always be. Some people are completely over the top with their “hate” of certain bands. I was in Chapters today and I overheard two “Thirtysomethings” talking about Coldplay. From what I heard the conversation seemed to go something like this.

“Are you kidding me? – they FRACKING suck!”

“In what way do they FRACKING suck?”

“Their FRACKING music moron!” And Chris Martin is such a FRACKING (insert expletive here)!”

“What specifically do you not like about their music?”

“It’s so unoriginal, a FRACKING rip-off”

“A rip-off from what?”

“FRACK OFF! Who cares, Coldplay sucks.”

The depth at which the songwriting and musical arrangement was broken down in this argument was astounding. Of course because I am passionately love music and am sensitive about the music that I like I wanted to jump in and begin a verbal assault but I thought better of initiating my 10 year old into the theater of musical combat at that moment.

rush of bloodIn reality I really could care less if anyone likes a specific band or not. When I love something I want to share it, and it feels great if the person I am sharing it with relates to it in some way as well. People don’t understand why they are so popular, or disagree with some politics, or feel they are too similar sounding to a band that they prefer. Who the FRACK cares! When I listen to music I do exactly that. How does this song make me feel right now? Is the sound pleasing to my ear? Can I relate in some way to what is being sung. The rest is really all a bunch of BS. When I put on Coldplay, 9 times out of 10 I love what I hear and I feel great. If you are worried about what the industry critics say or dude at the CD shop or anyone else for that matter, you have lost the point.

If Coldplay hater at Chapters is reading, here is what I want you to do sir. I want you to shut the FRACK up and just listen to this song without all of your preconceived notions. If after listening to this song you find that you were not moved then state that fact to the musical gods of the universe but do it for the right reasons, not because you heard some other FRACKER mention that they are a sellout one time. If you would prefer to listen to the original studio version of the song you can listen here.

LISTEN HERE

The Scientist by Coldplay is a Life of Tunes keeper, and a song that moves me every time I hear it.

Artist: Coldplay
Album: A Rush Of Blood To The Head (2002)
Track: The Scientist
Website: www.coldplay.com

6 Responses to "Fracking Coldplay"

but coldplay DOES suck

Congrats! Thank you for putting me out of my misery. I knew I would get this comment and that it would probably be the only comment I got on this post 🙂

Like every Coldplay hater, your predicatable which is nice cause you didn’t let me down.

Enjoy the rest of the worlds musical library and thanks for your comment!

Oh, please, when Stevie’s windows are up and he’s bombing down the highway, he’s got the CP cranked, just like the rest of us!

At least they are passionate about music i guess. What irks me most is that it seems to me that the most popular music is there for those who dont really care about music in the first case.

You bring up a good point. I just try to remove myself from all that as much as possible and just listen to what I am hearing. If I like it, I keep listening, if I dont, I have a nice new coaster. 🙂

Yes! Good song choice, sir! One of their best, for sure.

Leave a Reply

Spread the word!

the Life of Tunes link to a friend or music lover in your life!

https://bigtunelover.wordpress.com

Listen to Life of Tunes Playlist!

[clearspring_widget title="Grooveshark Widget: Chameleon" wid="48f3ef6c29317865" pid="4a411a33f7031086" width="400" height="300" domain="widgets.clearspring.com"]

Looking Back

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Life of Tunes

My Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

