Life of Tunes

Do Your Best To Destroy Me

Posted on: June 9, 2009

What a bloody day. Not literally but my day could not have been worse. I woke up and got kicked in the balls twice within the hour. No not literally. I’ll type slower so you can keep up.  Anyway it was not a happy Monday morning and I was feeling like crap about it for the better part of the day. I am dealing with a few issues that are just getting old if you know what I mean; feeling like I am just going round and round in circles. I am sure there is a song in those words but not the song that really gave me what I needed in dealing with the insanity that was my day.

till theThis was serious business and serious for me often has me thinking of Ray Lamontagne. “Empty” of off Till The Sun Turns Black was spot on for how I was feeling today.  As if on cue Ray sings “And of these cut-throat busted sunsets, these cold and damp white mornings, I have grown weary” , putting beautifully into words just exactly I was feeling to be dealing with BS again.

The course of the song seems to take on the course of my day or perhaps the opposite is true. By mid day I am feeling more grounded and ready for battle when I recall some lines at the end of this fitting song, Empty. “Well I looked my demons in the eyes laid bare my chest, said “Do your best, destroy me. You see, I’ve been to hell and back so many times I must admit you kind of bore me.

Now sitting and reflecting on my day reading the lyrics from start to finish they have a totally different meaning for me. The song I am listening to now is about love and loss, the same song. Odd, isn’t how a great song can do that.

Below is a live version of Ray singing Empty from BBC Four Session.  Listen to the studio version of this awesome track here:

LISTEN HERE

Empty by Ray Lamontagne is a Life of Tunes keeper and just what I needed today.

Artist: Ray Lamontagne
Album: Till The Sun Turns Black (2006)
Track: Empty
Website: www.raylamontagne.com

Leave a Reply

Spread the word!

the Life of Tunes link to a friend or music lover in your life!

https://bigtunelover.wordpress.com

Listen to Life of Tunes Playlist!

[clearspring_widget title="Grooveshark Widget: Chameleon" wid="48f3ef6c29317865" pid="4a411a33f7031086" width="400" height="300" domain="widgets.clearspring.com"]

Looking Back

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Life of Tunes

My Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

