Life of Tunes

Breeders, Lips and Detachable Penis

Posted on: June 12, 2009

The mind works in mysterious ways. Today was a nostalgic music day for me. My recent post on an UNKLE song resulted in a friend of mine recommending The Flaming Lips latest CD to me. The moment I read the words The Flaming Lips my mind was off and running, recalling song after song from back in the 90’s when the King Missile song Detachable Penis was covered by The Flaming Lips. It had me thinking about CD’s Siamese Dream by Smashing Pumpkins, Elastica and The Breeders. I started digging through some stuff and the first song that I found was The Breeders Cannonball.  I am still not sure how I feel about the whole thing. At first I just cranked the CD Last Splash and I really got into it, Cannonball is a cool high energy tune and it was a nice change from some of the more mellow tunes of the past few days.

TheBreedersLastSplash

Fast forward to tonight and I know I am posting on this because it has been stuck in my head all day. I dig up the video online and it kind of took the wind out of my sails a bit. What do I expect when I dig up a 1993 video right? Anyway, it’s been good fun rediscovering some of the stuff from the earlier 90’s today and I am sure those discs will be hanging around for a few days. You never know you may just get to sample a few others here on Life of Tunes.

Is it a Life of Tunes keeper? Perhaps we should just leave well enough alone and just enjoy it for what it is.

Artist: The Breeders
Album: Last Splash (1993)
Track: Cannonball
Website: www.myspace.com/thebreeders

1 Response to "Breeders, Lips and Detachable Penis"

oh yeah, the Breeders – forgot about them. Love it when she starts strumming her guitar. Good bass line.

Speaking of The Flaming Lips, have you even listened to their album Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots? Simply epic. When I discovered that one about 5 years ago I was very delighted.

Leave a Reply

Spread the word!

the Life of Tunes link to a friend or music lover in your life!

https://bigtunelover.wordpress.com

Listen to Life of Tunes Playlist!

[clearspring_widget title="Grooveshark Widget: Chameleon" wid="48f3ef6c29317865" pid="4a411a33f7031086" width="400" height="300" domain="widgets.clearspring.com"]

Looking Back

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Life of Tunes

My Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

