Life of Tunes

Eye Of The Tiger and Sour Lemons

Posted on: June 16, 2009

eyeofI am still laughing from a musical moment earlier this evening. It was soccer night for my 10 year old and I was just settling in with my Venti lactose free decaf latte with sugar free vanilla from Starbucks. The girls were warming up and getting pumped up for the game when Eye Of The Tiger by Survivor popped into my head. I think I laughed out pretty loud actually and got a few strange looks but I couldn’t help myself. Cue the black and white and hazy video… I was immediately in my hockey gear about 27 or 28 years ago circling the goalie and taking shots in my own warm-up. The arena I used to play in when I lived in Virginia Beach always played Eye Of The Tiger while we were warming up for a game. I recall how awesome that song made me feel as an 11 year old; wearing the jersey of my team and getting ready to do battle with my teammates. These are the really cool nostalgic memories of a time when life was so much less hectic.

While sitting on the sidelines of tonight’s game screaming “GO SOUR LEMONS!” I had a real sense of contentment. The delight of an 11 year old being on top of the world. It feels good to remember those times so fondly. I can only hope that as my daughter wraps up her game with the Sour Lemon Cheer that she is feeling the same. By the way it was a 4-4 tie and a nail biter.

Eye Of The Tiger by Survivor is a Life of Tunes keeper and some good memories.

Artist: Survivior
Album: Eye Of The Tiger (1982)
Track: Eye Of The Tiger
Website:
www.survivormusic.com

2 Responses to "Eye Of The Tiger and Sour Lemons"

Weird…I’m freaked out. I had the song in my head for the last few minutes just prior to clicking on your page. It`s not like I heard it today or anything.

Cheezy, yet classic. Can you believe I had the LP?

LOL That happens to me sometime too! I can believe you had the LP can you believe I had the Rocky Soundtrack???

Leave a Reply

Spread the word!

the Life of Tunes link to a friend or music lover in your life!

https://bigtunelover.wordpress.com

Listen to Life of Tunes Playlist!

[clearspring_widget title="Grooveshark Widget: Chameleon" wid="48f3ef6c29317865" pid="4a411a33f7031086" width="400" height="300" domain="widgets.clearspring.com"]

Looking Back

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Life of Tunes

My Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

